Sophomore Farewell!

Dear Sophomores,

First of all, I ask for your forgiveness if you ever felt my class was asking you to do too much. I’ve only assigned work out of love and care. You see, I believe in your potential to grow as human beings and scholars.

We’ve been together for a year. I can say with no exaggeration that most of you have come a long way since September. Clearly, your talents came to the fore the most in the last unit. I was simply blown away by the dedication and the amazing talent that most of you demonstrated in the classroom. And even the more habitually shy amongst you found the right voice to communicate something personal about your understanding of the Master and Margarita. Thank you for being in class every day and doing all the work. I hope you wave at me whenever you see me in the hallways. I’m looking forward to having some of you back as seniors! It’s always a surprise to see who returns. Don’t worry: my senior class feels very different from sophomore class.

If you’d like to read my scholarly work, the title of the book is “Arminius Vambery and the British Empire: Between East and West.” Yes, it’s about the same “Arminius from Buda-Pesth university” Van Helsing writes to in Dracula. Here’s more information about it. It should be available at your local library. If not, request that they get it.

ARMINIUS VAMBÉRY AND THE BRITISH EMPIRE: BETWEEN EAST AND WEST DISCOUNT CODE

Since presentations continued up to the last minute, I didn’t get to sing to you. Here’s a recording from a few years ago to give you a taste.

Thanks for everything! Good luck on your exams and have a wonderful summer. I will try to upload one last message later with pictures and videos from the Master and Margarita unit. Anyone who has created a digital project (Daniel’s audiobook, for example) should email it to me.

Here’s a video from last year that summarizes the book in 6 minutes. It’s pretty funny.

 

 

About Dr. Mandler's English Homework Blog

This blog is dedicated to announcements of various kinds to Dr. Mandler's sophomore and senior English students at Stuyvesant High School.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment